top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

VFX Experiments And Test Shots

Updated: Jan 13, 2023

Following on from creating my moving image mood board, I decided to experiment with visual effects and do some test-shots. First, I went used stock footage to test data moshing. This involved downloading a video editor called Avidemux. This editor allows me to delete intraframes. I spent about three hours on this, and this was the final result:

I'm happy with how this came out, but on reflection I could've cleaned up some of the random specs caused by the effect by masking them out.


Last weekend I went down to London to shoot some footage for the band Zkeletonz. I took the opportunity to create a video for them and practice using overlay effects.

This came out well, and the band liked it, but I think I'm being too conservsative with the use of overlay. On the topic of overlay, I created the following video in 2nd Year for my classical animation module.

This uses pixilation, essentially animation or time-lapse. I went to Kirkstall Abbey in Leeds, a location I’m thinking of using for my music video. I took loads of test-shots then collated them into a pixilation. I think I should’ve gone earlier in the day as I ran out of light towards the end of the trip.

I really like how this came out, and I'm planning on editing it with more footage and using it for The Lizard Of Oz's social medias.


Two years ago, I went to a Halloween party and took the opportunity to get some shots of a party atmosphere. These will be useful for my music video. At the party there were LED lights that transitioned between colours. I used a slow shutter speed to get some interesting results from this. I really like the photo of my friend dressed as a wizard. I also used a slow shutter speed to capture images of people playing with sparkle sticks. I used Adobe lightroom to add colour to them.

The LEDs prompted me to experiment with using colours to give the impression of a moving object. I drew some line art and used blue and red either side of the main lines. I then used changing LED colours to give the impression of movement. I also experimented with luminescent ink.

I'm going to attempt to translate this effect onto photographs of me in the sound studio at uni. I had planned to go in and get some test shots there, however I am running behind on my schedule and I have to head home for Christmas tomorrow. I’ll have to do this in the new year.


I have decided that my music video will be shot at a house party in Hyde Park, Leeds and in Headingley Woods, Leeds. I have chosen to shoot in Leeds because I have many friends there that will voluntarily be in the video, and it is very easy to get to for my friends from London that have volunteered to crew the shoot.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Budget

I had my final supervisor meeting of this Semester earlier today, and I was told that I need to produce a budget. There are no huge costs...

コメント


bottom of page