top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

Pre-Production Evaluation

Updated: Jan 13, 2023

With the pre-production period of my project drawing to a close, I can now look back and see what has gone well and what hasn’t. First, I think the project is going very well. Going from an undefined idea to having a planned-out project is a big success for me. As someone that experiences extended periods of attention deficit, I rarely finish projects that I begin. The consistent progress on this project is something I am commending myself on, especially considering that I have been project managing another major university project alongside it.


However, there are some issues with the project that I must address. The most notable is the milestone schedule. I am behind on three milestones. This is because I only did work on my other university project over Christmas. To mitigate the impact of this, I have created a more robust production timeline and have scheduled to catch up on overdue milestones during the two weeks before the beginning of Semester 2.

I have colour coded the tasks to signify what kind of process they are. Green is development over the given time period, with faded green signifying provisional extra time in case of incompletion. Yellow signifies a period in which the task could be begun if previous tasks have been completed. Red is a deadline, such as a release or other task that won’t take longer than a day to complete.


I have found meetings with my supervisor extremely useful. As someone that sometimes hyper fixates on things, I can focus on perfecting insignificant details to the detriment of an overall task. Meeting with my supervisor helps draw my focus back on to tasks that are necessary to completing the project. I will continue to arrange weekly mid-week supervisor meetings. This will ensure that I actually crack on with tasks at the start of the week and then have feedback and direction to complete them to a high standard by the end of the week.


Another issue with my project is that I’ve overlooked the value of physical media to market my music. Since the Covid-19 lockdowns, it seems that people are more appreciative of physical media as a result of being forcibly starved of it. I think it wouldn’t take much effort to produce fly posters to place around Bradford and Leeds in order to get a local following, as Chase & Status have done in London. Additionally, I have decided to 3D print a figure of my lizard mascot as a stretch goal. This idea was inspired by Ubbi Dubbi’s plushies, Calva Louise’s card game and Gorillaz’s fake passport. I want to do this so I can us post it on social media to see if people may be interested in acquiring the figure, and also to use it for my D&D games.


The final issue I have identified is a problem I don’t know how to solve. Fusing two separate genres creates a wider audience for me to reach. However, I risk alienating fans of one genre if they don’t like elements I’ve taken from the other genre. This may cause my project to fail, and I think the only way I can avoid this is to be careful with what kinds of media I expose to each audience. I am going to push VFX content to the DNB audience and behind the scenes production content to the rock audience.


Although I am slightly behind schedule, this was to be expected. I think I have adapted my project sufficiently to research and feedback, and I am very happy with the progress that I’ve made. I have also reached level 5 on Musician guitar, and I have noticed that I am a much better player now than I was three months ago. Overall, I am positive about the future of the project and confident that my goals are achievable. I am going into the university sound studio tomorrow to work on my single and get some press shots, marking the begining of the production phase of my project.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Budget

I had my final supervisor meeting of this Semester earlier today, and I was told that I need to produce a budget. There are no huge costs...

Comments


bottom of page