top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

Moving Image Moodboard

Updated: Jan 12, 2023

Although creating a visual mood-board has been extremely helpful in ideating my project’s visual style, I realised that I need to explore how I will translate the style of those still images into a style of moving images. Therefore, I decided to create a moving image mood board.


Some music videos that came mind were:

This is a good example of how I’m planning to overlay colour and black and white footage. I also really like the camera angle from the guitar headstock, I could easily achieve this with a GoPro.

I really like how this video manipulates the shapes of objects by expanding, shifting and condensing them. The use of 360 degree is also really interesting, as it again warps the shapes of objects in the image.

A great example of how simple image manipulation such as cropping and colour overlays can create a frenetic moving image when synced up to music. This video uses footage that isn’t shot on the most recent camera technology, resulting in image noise and washed-out colours. This creates an underground, homemade aesthetic that is very effective.

I love this vidoe's placement of footage onto object planes inside other footage. It’s an incredibly creative way of transitioning between footage that is rather simple to achieve.

I love stop motion animation, and I’d like to work that discipline into the project in some way. This video uses pixilation (basically the same as stop motion animation) to create visually striking in-camera effects.

This video uses AI to overlay textures onto footage. I think I can achieve the same effect by using codec manipulation. This is something I need to experiment with.


The last video prompted me to investigate data moshing. Data moshing involves deleting the intraframes of a video file. This prevents the video codec from processing the image correctly, causing the last saved I-frame to be superimposed onto the newer frames. A good example of how this can be used creatively is the following video:

I decided to create some test footage to practice recreating some of the effects in these videos.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Budget

I had my final supervisor meeting of this Semester earlier today, and I was told that I need to produce a budget. There are no huge costs...

Comments


bottom of page