top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

Modelling and Texturing the L98A2

Having significantly more experience with Maya than when I began my 3D animation module, I now felt confident to begin modelling the object that I would be graded on. To start the L98A2 I modelled the top half of the rifle. I scaled a cuboid to my desired shape and added edge loops to allow me to sculpt details. I extruded polygons from the mesh to create the raised areas of the rifle. For the barrel I used a cylinder and added edge loops on the end so I could extrude the shape of the muzzle. To model the curved surface of the handguard I enabled object symmetry in the Z axis and moved specific vertices into the correct position.

I added final details to the foresight and rear sight and bevelled some of the edges so that light would catch on them.

Next I moved on to the bottom half of the rifle. As before, I scaled a cuboid to my desired dimensions. I then achieved the correct shape by moving vertices into the corners of the shape. Then I added external details such as the grip and trigger by creating additional cubes and moving the vertices. I grouped all of the meshes together to allow me to move the whole bottom half together.

The main bluk of the modelling was now complete. The final things I had to model were some of the internal components. I started with the gas parts, which are located in the hand guard.

Then moved on to the bolt assembly, recoil rods and cocking handle. These are located in the chamber.

Finally, I modelled the magazine. Looking at the full mesh, I am proud of how far I have come with Maya, especially as I couldn't even use the programme at the start of the module.

I used the Hypershade window to assign material textures to each mesh. Fortunately for me, the rifle is made of solid monocoloured metals and plastics. This made texturing the model much easier. I created four textures for the various metals and two for the different kinds of plastic. I am very happy with the result.

To finish off, I froze all of the transformations. This will allow me to move the individual components and groups for animation later.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page