top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

Basic Sculpting in Maya

Updated: Dec 12, 2019

I didn't really understand how to sculpt surfaces in Maya, so I decided to try out the sculpting tool on a sphere in order to explore how it worked. After messing around for a bit, I decided to sculpt the Earth. First, I drew the outline of the continents but I realised that the polycount wasn't high enough to achieve the accuracy that I wanted.

As you can see, I increased the number of polys substantially from the first attempt. This allowed me to sculpt much more detail from the sphere. However I wasn't completely happy with the second attempt as I had been sculpting the Earth from memory. For my third attempt, I projected a map of Earth onto the sphere - this substantially increased the accuracy of the sculpt.

I was happy with the end result, and had gained an understanding of how the sculpting tool works. However I think for more precise models, it would be more viable to move vertices individually rather than rely on the sculpting tool.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page