top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

Basic Modelling - Building A House

Updated: Dec 12, 2019

In order to become more proficient with Maya I decided to model something from scratch. I changed the scale and position of cuboids using the Attribute Editor to create a basic house. After I had the basic model, I used the Hypershade window to colour the house.

The house took about an hour to model and texture. However, after I had finished I spotted some problems with my model.

First, the windows were too far forward such that they didn't actually touch the wall of the house. This was easy to fix; I used the Attribute Editor to move the windows backwards along the X-axis.


Second, the window on the door didn't have a glass panel. As the window frame and the door had the same texture, the door looked rather drab. To fix this I created a square plane with the same texture as the other glass panels and placed it in the window.


After this process I am more familiar with the Attribute Editor and Hypershade. I also took the opportunity to practice properly naming and grouping objects in the scene.

Although the model is very basic, I was able to practice basic modelling and texturing skills. This will allow me to use Maya more efficiently in the future.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page