top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBen McLaughlin

3D Modelling Project Concept

Updated: Dec 12, 2019

For my 3D animation course I must model, texture and animate an object of my choice for assessment. In the Cadet Force I was trained to teach lessons on the L98A2 GP Cadet Rifle.

L98A2 GP Cadet Rifle

Saying that I have a feel for the weapon would be an understatement; I know all of the internal components, how they go together and how they work. Because of my knowledge I have chosen to model, texture and animate this rifle for my project. I will model the individual components and put them together, as one would in real life. That being said, some parts are never actually stripped down to their components. For example, a cadet is never taught how to take apart the hand guard, sling loop retaining screw and the front sling loop (17-19) because it's not necessary to do so. Therefore I will most likely model these three components as one.

As somewhat of a beginner to 3D modelling and animation, modelling and texturing each individual component seems like a monumental task. However, I am determined to complete it to the best of my ability because this project could be used as a learning device for cadets in my old contingent. Instead of only having hands on time with the rifle one night a week, cadets can go home and revise the rifle's different parts and their functions with my digital recreation.


I plan to animate stripping and assembling the rifle. This is a key skill on the Army Proficiency Certificate syllabus, but unfortunately learning it involves sitting through the most boring lectures imaginable. If my digital recreation has the possibility of making this part of the syllabus more engaging to younger cadets, who have grown up with an affinity for digital technology, then I'll happily pour hours into it.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page